Go Back   S-Chassis.com > Technical Discussions > Engine Management / Tuning Forums > General
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2011, 08:46 PM   #1
Joeyc.850
Registered User

Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Joeyc.850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panhandle
Drives: 89' Nissan 240sx

Posts: 31
p00pstain92
rpm guage doesnt work

I have an 89 240 with a ka24de in or or maybe itsa ka24e, idk, just the way i bought it, ive been looking in the book on how to hook up the wires for the rpm gauge but having a different engine in it the wires arnt matching up, any help please? id really like to have my rpm gauge back.
__________________
Joeyc.850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 04:38 PM   #2
Joeyc.850
Registered User

Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Joeyc.850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panhandle
Drives: 89' Nissan 240sx

Posts: 31
p00pstain92
anyone??

i really need my tach working.
__________________
Joeyc.850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:24 PM   #3
Joeyc.850
Registered User

Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Joeyc.850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panhandle
Drives: 89' Nissan 240sx

Posts: 31
p00pstain92
OK, so i took my cluster out and cut the yellow wire with red stripe and wired it directly to my yellow wire w/ red stripe under the hood, tachometer works now but it just bounces theres no smooth climb up the the rpms it just bounces, any help with this problem since nobody had any input on the other problem?????????
__________________
Joeyc.850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 01:16 AM   #4
Biggamehit
Registered User

Personal Sales Rating: (2)
 
Biggamehit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Misawa, Japan
Drives: 89 KA-T 240sx/ 94 R33 Nissan Skyline

Posts: 5,091
Send a message via AIM to Biggamehit Send a message via MSN to Biggamehit Send a message via Yahoo to Biggamehit
Most of the time its a faulty guage cluster..

why exactly do you need it?? you look at it while you drive?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Facebook Pink Ranger Drift
Biggamehit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 12:49 PM   #5
Joeyc.850
Registered User

Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Joeyc.850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panhandle
Drives: 89' Nissan 240sx

Posts: 31
p00pstain92
its nice to know where exactly my rpms are, i can hear where they are but i wanna see it too, yeah i do. picking up a vert today for parts so maybe it will have a cluster i can use
__________________
Joeyc.850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 05:11 PM   #6
Biggamehit
Registered User

Personal Sales Rating: (2)
 
Biggamehit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Misawa, Japan
Drives: 89 KA-T 240sx/ 94 R33 Nissan Skyline

Posts: 5,091
Send a message via AIM to Biggamehit Send a message via MSN to Biggamehit Send a message via Yahoo to Biggamehit
hmmmm please dont look at your tach while you race if you plan on doing that lol.

by the way if you added a KA24de to a KA24e body..... you must run the tach from a 93 and you have to do the body wiring adding the brown plug from a dohc s13 in place of the white plug. Its on the passenger side above the ECU.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Facebook Pink Ranger Drift
Biggamehit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 10:04 PM   #7
Joeyc.850
Registered User

Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Joeyc.850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panhandle
Drives: 89' Nissan 240sx

Posts: 31
p00pstain92
your talking about the white plug that hooks to the back of my cluster? will the tach work if i buy new aftermarket gauges for the ka24de? only reason i ask is because its cheaper than what ive been seeing on ebay.
__________________
Joeyc.850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 06:41 AM   #8
Biggamehit
Registered User

Personal Sales Rating: (2)
 
Biggamehit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Misawa, Japan
Drives: 89 KA-T 240sx/ 94 R33 Nissan Skyline

Posts: 5,091
Send a message via AIM to Biggamehit Send a message via MSN to Biggamehit Send a message via Yahoo to Biggamehit
yea as you would be running the tach to the distribitor for the signal.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Facebook Pink Ranger Drift
Biggamehit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 02:13 PM   #9
Joeyc.850
Registered User

Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Joeyc.850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panhandle
Drives: 89' Nissan 240sx

Posts: 31
p00pstain92
so i could just buy a aftermarket gauge kit for dohc instead of changing out the actual cluster and this will fix it?
__________________
Joeyc.850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 04:06 AM   #10
Biggamehit
Registered User

Personal Sales Rating: (2)
 
Biggamehit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Misawa, Japan
Drives: 89 KA-T 240sx/ 94 R33 Nissan Skyline

Posts: 5,091
Send a message via AIM to Biggamehit Send a message via MSN to Biggamehit Send a message via Yahoo to Biggamehit
this will bandage it.. you need to find out why your signal is not working as it will disturb other things..
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Facebook Pink Ranger Drift
Biggamehit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 08:50 AM   #11
Joeyc.850
Registered User

Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Joeyc.850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panhandle
Drives: 89' Nissan 240sx

Posts: 31
p00pstain92
ok, also do you know if a 1993 240vert dash will mount up in my 89 fastback? my dash has cracks all in it and my parts car has a dash in pretty good shape. The guy i bought the parts car from told me it would not work but it looks exactly the same.
__________________
Joeyc.850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 02:55 PM   #12
Biggamehit
Registered User

Personal Sales Rating: (2)
 
Biggamehit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Misawa, Japan
Drives: 89 KA-T 240sx/ 94 R33 Nissan Skyline

Posts: 5,091
Send a message via AIM to Biggamehit Send a message via MSN to Biggamehit Send a message via Yahoo to Biggamehit
hai It will mount up no difference
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Facebook Pink Ranger Drift
Biggamehit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 09:25 PM   #13
Joeyc.850
Registered User

Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Joeyc.850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panhandle
Drives: 89' Nissan 240sx

Posts: 31
p00pstain92
thanks man, i appreciate all your help
__________________
Joeyc.850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 09:25 PM


 
 
 
Reply

Tags
240, 240sx, aftermarket, cluster, dont, fix, gauge, international, ka24de, ka24e, problems, rpm, tach, wire, wont, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

 
Click here to find out more!

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:35 PM.