S-Chassis.com

S-Chassis.com (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/)
-   How Tos / Installations (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/how-tos-installations-48/)
-   -   S13 Wheel Stud Replacement (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/how-tos-installations-48/s13-wheel-stud-replacement-39057/)

positron 05-01-2007 02:23 PM

S13 Wheel Stud Replacement

32 Attachment(s)
I finally got off my duff and replaced that wheel stud that I broke a couple of months ago.

Tools needed:
Jack
Jackstands
Socket wrench
17mm socket
14mm socket
3lb. hammer
Washers
Lug wrench

Attachment 23332
I've been riding around for a couple of months now with one missing lug nut on my rear drivers side...it ends today!
Attachment 23333
First, jack the car up, place your jackstands in the appropriate places and remove the wheels. In order to gain access to the hub so that you can remove the broken wheel stud, you need to remove the brake caliper and the brake rotor.
Attachment 23334
In order to get the rotors on and off you'll need to remove the brake caliper. You start by removing the torque member bolt with a 17mm socket. There are two bolts on the torque member, top and bottom. This is the top bolt.
Attachment 23335
This is the bottom torque member bolt.
Attachment 23336
Torque member bolt-top.
Attachment 23337
If you can't wriggle the caliper off then you may need to slightly loosen the pin bolts. There are two pin bolts. This is the top pin bolt.
Attachment 23338
This is the bottom pin bolt.
Attachment 23339
Here's the caliper.
Attachment 23340
Here's the torque member that it bolts to.
Attachment 23341
You don't want the caliper hanging by the brake line, which could damage the line, so you use something to hold the caliper with while keeping stress off the brake line. I didn't have any metal coat hangers so I used a small bungee cord. Put one end on the top of your springs and hang the other on the caliper.
Attachment 23342
Rotor
Attachment 23343