S-Chassis.com

S-Chassis.com (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/)
-   NA Motor (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/na-motor-11/)
-   -   95 kA timing chain replacement question (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/na-motor-11/95-ka-timing-chain-replacement-question-44211/)

MasterOSkillio 06-20-2008 07:26 AM

95 kA timing chain replacement question

Hey Guys, I have a 95 240sx with about 160k on the clock, and the timing chain is starting to make a rattle. After reading about how in some cars the chain will eat through the case and into a water line I decided I need to look in to this before it kills my car.

I am somewhat mechanically inclined, but I have never done a job like this before. I saw a guide on doing it a while back, but I can't seem to find it anymore, so I took my car to my local mechanic, to see what he thought. He says that the upper chain could easily be replaced, but the lower one is something like 12 hours of work in his billing book.

Basically, I think this job may be a little over my head, and even though I am strapped for cash I guess paying for the chain replacement is better then needing a new motor, but does anyone know if I can get away with just replacing the upper chain and the tensioner? or is it better to just do both?
Also I have seen some stuff about getting rid of the guides for the timing chains, should I be purchasing all of them?

Would I need to purchase:
2 timing chains (upper and lower)
2 pensioners (upper and lower)
Guides? Do I buy all of the original guides, or leave some out?

If anyone has done this at a shop before could you give me an idea of what I am looking at in terms of parts and labor? I have a feeling this is going to cut really deep into my summer tuition savings, but I guess since I need a car to function I don't have too much of a choice. Thanks in advance for any help.

MS!3 06-20-2008 10:43 AM