S-Chassis.com

S-Chassis.com (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/)
-   NA Motor (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/na-motor-11/)
-   -   KA24DE design Q's (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/na-motor-11/ka24de-design-qs-44946/)

Lord Umoja 10-28-2008 09:19 AM

KA24DE design Q's

I am currently working on saving up for my SR20DET swap for my project car, however my father and I had an idea for a motor to be built after the SR20 is in. This would give me a good motor to use in the car and get the vehicle running while the big motor build is in the works (Current KA24DE in the project car was FUBAR'd by the previous owner).

My questions are about the KA24DE. I wanted to know if the KA24DE is a sleeved block, and what the maximum bore and displacement that was achieveable through over-boring. I was planning on building my own big bore setup ie. selecting everything myself instead of paying extra for someone to track down a combination. I am currently a machinist in training and have access to a fair number of machine tools, so if the block is sleeved I could create my own sleeves for the motor in what ever size I needed and could fit. I was planning on a big bore and turbo setup if the motor is sleeved. Othrewise its not really worth my time becuase I dont have access to engine specific machine tools.

I did come across this line during my search but cant find a maximum displacement through over boring.

"If you are allowed to bore you can look into the maximum bore of the KA block which is 91.5mm and go with a set of VG33E pistons which are 91.5mm."

This is currently just a project idea but it gets me major points in machining class and would be nice to do. Any info would be appreciated.

battosaii930 10-28-2008 09:37 AM

if i had the money id buy a Brian Crower 2.6liter stroker kit

dude **** is insane do that build the head and you got yourself an insane motor **** puney sr20 lol
http://www.briancrower.com/makes/nissan/ka24de.shtml