S-Chassis.com

S-Chassis.com (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/)
-   NA Motor (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/na-motor-11/)
-   -   possible engine rebuild, what do you think? (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/na-motor-11/possible-engine-rebuild-what-do-you-think-45211/)

hatrick6 01-07-2009 02:24 PM

possible engine rebuild, what do you think?

3 Attachment(s)
ok, so here's the deal, my buddy brady gave me this engine that he had lying around his backyard (he blew the head on it). i have never done an engine rebuild before, so i thought this might be a good place to learn and maybe build a engine to spec for ST class in autox (since my engine is closing in on 140K miles, so this engine will get SOHC pistons and 240/248 cams, dirt cheap frankenstein rebuild ;)). this engine has a lot of rust, so the question is do you think it is worth a rebuild?

questions 2: he said it was a "high compression" engine, which i assume means it has SOHC pistons, although he couldn't tell me for sure, so when i pull the pistons out how can i tell if they are from a SOHC or DOHC engine?

p.s. since this is my first rebuild any little tips or pieces of advice you guys have to give are greatly appreciated.

Attachment 12359

Attachment 12360

Attachment 12361

Biggamehit 01-07-2009 05:29 PM

Holy **** no bro.. that thing is weather beaten X100

Im all about keeping it simple, but you can stumble over another KA in better shape than that bro.

BigVinnie 01-07-2009 07:00 PM

sand blast it you will be fine.

Biggamehit 01-07-2009 08:12 PM

meh im well aware of sand blasting..but it looks like that thing just sat in the rain un covered for a while.

hatrick6 01-07-2009 08:41 PM

Originally Posted by Biggamehit (Post 378500)
meh im well aware of sand blasting..but it looks like that thing just sat in the rain un covered for a while.