Off-Topic Anything Non-Related to the above topics.

Midwest Drifting!

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2008, 07:25 PM

Midwest Drifting!

Or lack there of...

I've gotten permission to contact the land owner of food4less in our mini-city of kansas about using their parking lot. My issue is if he agrees to allow us to use it, then it has to go thru food4less corporate. Most likely to get denied.

My plan is to go through city council somehow and try and pursuede them to let us hold a drift event, even a practice, at/near the town. After all who wouldnt want to be the town to hold the first drift event in the entire state!?

Anyone have any experience with dealing with city councils or attempting to get an event like this off the ground?
Old 01-06-2008, 08:12 PM

I have no experience in this, but my guess would be your best bet would be to get in touch with a local auto club sanction (SCCA, NASA) and talk to them about it. I doubt you would be able to get an event without someone like that due to stuff like insurance, tech inspections, and other things that they provide at every event by qualified individuals. Like I said, I have no firsthand experience, so thats pretty much my guess...
Old 01-06-2008, 08:40 PM

bryan were all just brainstorming at the moment so even educated guesses are very welcome!
Old 01-23-2008, 08:35 AM

Did you every figure anything else out about this?
Old 01-23-2008, 10:12 AM

I actually contacted the road course manager of a huge track here in kansas. Theyre interested in nopi-forumla D-D1 coming to kansas but they (d1, etc) said that they dont think theres any interest in drifting in Kansas. So Im working with Heartland Park Raceway to get a HUGE event to happpen this summer. The bigger the better in their eyes.

So what went from a little event for us to practice in is slowly becoming a sponsored event with over 200 spectators and 25 drivers.