S-Chassis.com

S-Chassis.com (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/)
-   Drifting (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/drifting-47/)
-   -   Drift techniques and pointers for rookies (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/drifting-47/drift-techniques-pointers-rookies-44996/)

BlackZenki82 11-08-2008 03:03 PM

Drift techniques and pointers for rookies

As it says guys, tips and pointers...

I'm a rookie at drifting, fair share of track time as far as road courses but not so much at drifting. I've done the research, read "how tos" on drifting, and have found a few things that might work for me and my driving style that's not too advanced or hard on the drive train...

As i've said, you can read read read read about how to do it, kinda like reading about how to ride a bike, you can study it for years, and get on one and fall flat on your face. So what this thread is about is driver experience, first hand tips and pointers from people who got out there and have it mastered or close to mastered, to help out with the guys like me who are just getting started.. So please, explain what it is you do, and how you do it, details are required (IE speeds, gears, maneuvers, techniques, procedures).

No flaming please, this is intended to be instructional.

BlackZenki82 11-08-2008 03:05 PM

So far what seems to me to be the most viable thing to start on learning is..

power over
feint
shift lock

got any tips on those techniques? the most exp i've had is "controlled doughnuts" in parking lots, figure 8's wide sweeping slides, but nothing on a track..

i've found some interesting tips on this site.... *here*

USMCDrifter 11-08-2008 03:31 PM

So yeah, we've already discussed that shift-lock ISN'T a good idea for your car, especially since you wish to drive it home. It WILL destroy your transmission and your drive gear. Not fun!

You mentioned your clutch kicking doesn't work. How are you applying it?