Drifting Like to go sideways? Check this forum out.

how to exit a drift

Old 01-15-2004, 09:23 PM

how to exit a drift

ok as you may know im somewhat new to the drift scene (atleast doing it first hand) and i was curious how you exit a drift a few of my friends said let go of the wheel to straighten back out but im a little hesitant to just let go of the wheel while im sideways and just go straight into something or somethin crazy, and the way i been doin it the exit is a little rough with some body roll and a lil swirve type action and after watching people drift I noticed they dont seem to do that, but just curious what you guys techniques might be and any other tips would be cool I read through most the drift rules and tips and I didnt really find any posts on technique but thanks
Old 01-16-2004, 10:38 AM
Contributing Member

just let go of the wheel and keep on the trottle you will be fine
Old 01-16-2004, 03:58 PM

yea thats what they said but i didnt know if they were being serious cause they play around alot so i thought id ask yall to be sure
Old 01-18-2004, 11:20 AM
Contributing Member

Letting go of the wheel may seem scary at first because of that brief moment when you're not actually steering your car, but remember that cars are designed to try to go as straight as possible. The toe, caster, camber, etc. all are set mainly to keep the car straight and stable.

Keep in mind you only would do the "let og of the wheel" thing at the absolute end of the drift, where you're already pointing the right direction. I'd hate to hear of someone who tried to drift, got into the middle of a mean right hander... then let go of the steering wheel thinking that it's automatic
Old 01-18-2004, 01:09 PM

I let go of the steering wheel when I drive. And I'm not even drifting.

But really, if you straighten out the steering wheel and work the throttle properly, it'll be fine.
Old 01-18-2004, 10:34 PM