Engine Swaps Discussion about motor swaps ONLY.

10k, thats all i got

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2003, 04:32 PM

10k, thats all i got

OK, im kinda new to all this, but i am getting a 89-90 240 over the summer. Now all i got is 10 grand. I need to know wut would be better to get a rb25 or a sr20. and i want not to race professionally or anything, but to dominate on the streets. Also how fast could i run the 1/4 with each engine. And wut other upgrades would be profitable to get with the money i got left. Any help at would be greaty apprieciated. Thanks.
Old 05-10-2003, 04:51 PM

you are in the EXACT same situation as me. Im going RB. there is a guy on here, who with an RB, LSD, and iridium spark plugs ran an 11.9. convincing enough for me

get your car and learn how to drive it before you upgrade though.
Old 05-10-2003, 04:58 PM

sounds good. thanks a bunch
Old 05-10-2003, 11:28 PM

Also, if anyone else has any ideas i'd love to hear them. And would gettin a body kit be wise?
Old 05-11-2003, 07:00 AM
Contributing Member

You are lucky. Cali cars are usually in great condition.

Watch out for the usuall auto gremlins. Go over your wiring. I know the reverse lights are a problem with the FBs.

Get yourself a new set of TC rod bushings. If you feel the car pulls to either side it is most likely them. They are liquid filled and fail after a while.

You are going to need brakes. Get big ones. Don't be cheap.

Don't be cheap with anything. I know you have a budget but if you do it cheap you will do it twice.
Old 05-11-2003, 10:32 AM
Contributing Member

Yea dont be cheap on anything, I think u got enough money for the car and the swap. Just take ur time on doin evrything.
Old 05-11-2003, 10:37 AM
Contributing Member

I think I will be ready for my swap in a year. Lets say next summer.

I want:

Suspension 65% done
Safety 25% done
Engine 0% done
Looks 10% done

I think I am in the hole for 12k so far. It sneaks up on you quick and if you count everything.