Engine Swaps Discussion about motor swaps ONLY.

Project on the horizon...

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2003, 09:10 AM

Project on the horizon...

Maybe I'm unskilled at the search function because I'm a friggin noob, but I didn't find the info I wanted, so here goes:

I am looking to start a project car and either do the SR20DET or RB25DET. I've heard it's much too difficult to do the RB26DETT/RB25DET tranny on a tight budget. I also don't know that I'd need the extra power from the RB's, since I would like the car to be capable of doing more than just dragging.

I will have the car as a daily beater / racecar, and so I don't really need things such as interior pieces or air conditioning. I would like to retain the door panels, dash, front seats, console, etc to ease daily usage initially though. This especially depends on what class of racing I may compete in someday.

Question 1: Has anyone gutted like I've described above, or to any extent? Have you noticed quantitative performance gains from the modifications, or did you just gut out of principle? Meaning, have acceleration/braking times, handling, weight distribution, etc. improved?

Question 2: Which swap should i go for based on my goals? If you need clarification on these goals, I would be happy to oblige.

Question 3: What considerations did you take into account when planning/beginning your project? What condition car did you look for?

Question 4: Has anyone bought a car from a junkyard with (or without) frame damage? What difficulties did you run into by buying a junked car?

I sincerely apologize for the enormity of material above , but I would very much appreciate some help here. Thanks in advance!
Old 07-16-2003, 05:49 AM

Cripes...no one?!?!

Too many questions, or no knowledge base to work from? Either way, kinda sad considering the amount of expertise I thought was on-tap...
Old 07-16-2003, 09:56 AM