General For General 240sx/Silvia (s-chassis) discussions.

Heater Problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2005, 02:44 PM

Heater Problems

Hello fellow 240SX'ers,
I'm brand new to this forum....but I feel it's the best place to get some helpful "help me out" tips.....

I have a 1991 240SX and although I live in the Phoenix, AZ area the weather has been fairly below average lately and the winter nites are always pretty brisk.....Anyway, my heater is not working at all. It only blows out cool air. I've tried cycling the tempature control **** (the slider thing) and nothing happens but the cool air. Now last winter when I had to use my heater it was working fine. I've had this problem now for a little over a month when I tried using the heater for the first time.

Does anyone have any suggestion to what could be the problem? And how to correct it.

Your suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

GW
Old 01-06-2005, 12:26 AM

hey i'm pretty new to the 240 forums too and i also have a 91 with the same problem. i'm gonna bring it to the shop this weekend and let my friend there take a look at it. Ill give you an update when i figure out whats going on
Old 01-06-2005, 02:20 AM
Contributing Member

the first thing you have to check is if there is antifreeze in the radiator... might sound dumb to some people but thats the first thing to check... if the radiator is full then you need to find out if your heater core is plugged or obstructed by rust or other build up...
the way to do that is... drain the cooling system... remove the upper and lower heater hosees and blow air through the pipes going into the fire wall... now when you blow air thrugh the tubes it should come out as fast as you blow it in... if there is little to no air comming out then you have a blocked heater core...
if the heater core is plugged then you are going to have to replace it which means the dash come off so you can get at the heater box...