S-Chassis.com

S-Chassis.com (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/)
-   General (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/general-3/)
-   -   Looking for a test pipe setup (https://www.s-chassis.com/forums/general-3/looking-test-pipe-setup-46516/)

CGL Dorikin 11-17-2009 01:05 PM

Looking for a test pipe setup

I'm relatively new to the world of the S-Chassis but I know I made a good choice to enter it and I should be sticking around til the day I day. BUT, I am in need of some advice. I have a KA24E and I am looking around for new exhaust and such and I came to the conclusion that since MN has no smog test I want a test pipe (maybe). Otherwise I'll look into picking up a Catco High Flow and maybe a MeganRacing or Blitz exhaust system. Let me know what companies are actually worth the money :D

USMCDrifter 11-17-2009 01:39 PM

A test pipe is just a pipe that gets hooked up in place of your cat . . .nothing special to it.

Just make sure it's not too wide (interior diameter) or you'll wind up hurting more than you help.

I would say, just look on eBay for a test pipe for your year model car . . .or just go to an exhaust shop (they're everywhere), have them drop your cat and weld in a test pipe. Shouldn't cost more than 100 bucks either way.

-Dave

CGL Dorikin 11-17-2009 01:53 PM

Alright I'll look into it. Thanks :D

jramosthe1st! 11-17-2009 02:05 PM

you'll lose tq, maybe gain 1/2hp, and kill the environment, is that something you can live with? if you are some sort of heartless monster and and it's ok with you to kill the planet, at least get a resonated test pipe. that way we don't have to hear you while you slowly exterminate humanity.

CGL Dorikin 11-17-2009 02:09 PM

Just to throw it out there, Im not the only one hahaha.
And nothing is set in stone. Im still looking for options.
A chart would be really nice actually, comparing a test pipe to a cat-back
I am looking for a good HP gain, but I dont wanna lose to much low-end power