NA Motor Discussions regarding N/A KA24E, KA24DE, and SR20DE

water pump installation help

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2005, 08:45 PM

Exclamation water pump installation help

my first post! i'm a newbie so please bare with me. alright.. i did the whole search thing so don't get mad at me if this was already posted.. i didn't find anything in the search or maybe i wasn't looking hard enough? ok, let me begin.

i have a 1990 nissan 240sx... my baby! almost reached 100,000 miles! haha ok ok.. so my engine is over heating. every time i drive the car, my engine just heats up! it heats up so bad that it doesn't start. there's this one time when i drove it from work to my house and i accidentally splashed water on the heat sheild?? and it sizzled!!!! hardcore!!! since this car is STOCK, i bought a koyo radiator to replace the stock radiator. *not a virgin anymore!! haha* ok.. my brother and i installed a new fuel pump, thermostat and the radiator. here's the thing... the engine STILL feels extremely hot when i run it. i feel like i'm making my motor oil boil!! very uncool.. i don't want to destroy my engine!!!

ok.. the question: is this a water pump problem??? i heard it's suppose to have a "current" flow when you look from the top of the radiator and the fluid has to be moving at a direction. well, when i checked, it wasn't moving at all!!!

second question: if it's the water pump, can any of you advise me on how to install the water pump? is this hard to do? i don't want to go through a mechanic cause they're charging me over 250 for an install. can someone break down what i need to change the water pump? tools.. sealants.. certain procedures.. etc. *i have the chilton book, but i'm not quite following it.. help? please!*
private msg. me or replies on this board would be great!! thanks in advance! - steph
Old 07-24-2005, 02:28 PM