Show and Shine Discuss the latest aero kits, and other non-performance items in here.

Body Work Project

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2004, 12:28 AM

Body Work Project

Sup everyone for a while now I have been thinking of fixing my body up. Taking out the little dents and primering it myself. I have never done this before chances are that i will mess up but this is my project car and only car. Just want to get some inputs in and to see if anyone has done this by themselves aswel.

Hollow
Old 04-10-2004, 11:41 PM

hey bro. i i'm on the same project as you. was just about post the samething. just bought 240 and wanted to learn body work. to save some money!

come on guys! give some tips! any would help>>>>thanks in advance..
Old 04-11-2004, 08:44 AM

I'm not a proffessional, but me and my friends did a little body work on his CRX before he sold it, nothing real major. Molded on side skirts and took off his crappy aluminum spoiler and covered the holes that were left behind. For it being our first time doing anything like this and even touching bondo, I think it came out pretty damn good. Only advice I can offer is read directions, be patient, and take your time. I know its not that much help, just trying to give a little advice though
Old 04-11-2004, 01:05 PM

im on the same boat, currently doing body work on my 95 240sx, i've removed the whole front end/fenders/rear bumper/ as well as removed the antenna and 3rd brake light to be shaved.
i sanded down the drivers side and rear trunk i need to do the passenger side and the roof.
but next time i go home to continue , i will remove the door handles and side view mirrors.
some area's i got down to the metal, for this you should use bare metal primer, they come in a spray can.
that way the paint/primer doesn't bubble up over time.
also i use 100 and 150 grit sand paper for my rotary sander.