Engine Swaps Discussion about motor swaps ONLY.

Creating RB25det swap site - Swap related

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2004, 05:15 PM

Post Creating RB25det swap site - Swap related

Hello everyone, I've been viewing this site for quite a while and and looking for info on doing a RB25det swap into my 96 240. I am a home mechanic who's done my share of Honda/Acura swaps on my own cars as a hobby. This Nissan is my first owned and like most the SR was the way to go. Well, I've been looking for other options and the RB series motors are in my opinion the next in line for choices. I am new to swapping motors in Nissans, but like most I come to message boards in seek of as much useful information in assiting me in the swap. But like most, information on peforming this swap isnt as plentyful as I expected. It is, compared to the SR, a rare swap. So info is not as accurate and true as I would have expected it to be. There is tons of good info out there...but you have to dig and dig and dig just to come across a thread like "thats not tue, you dont have to do that, or you dont have to do that..or that will not work, that will work" for example. Here in Tampa where I reside in, almost everyone and their mother says "NO" to the RB series motors. Why, well because of the issues we read about everyday on searches and webboards. Handling, fitment, parts, pricing, etc... Yet locally one one PERSON that works at a respectable shop has done the swap to my knowledge. So here in Tampa, the majority of installers and shops are SR biased...because of the issues and their personal preference to the black art of "Drifting". Basically what I am going to attempt to do is create a inexpensive informative site in regards to swapping the RB25det(because that is the motor I am going to do)into the S14 chassis. I am going to attempt to make it as useful for the do-it-yourself(dyi) mechanic out there such as much self...everything from parts, to install guide, to links with other sites and us