General For General 240sx/Silvia (s-chassis) discussions.

Need engine swap help

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2005, 04:21 PM

Need engine swap help

I was doing some routine mainenance on my 95 s14. i was chaning my hoses and...DAMN so much ***en rust every. i just bought the car a few months ago and i was goin to turbo charge the KADE but most likely not goin to anymore since i know how badly the engine was treated

so i'm new with turbos and goin for the same DOHC Ka w/either a z31 turbo or t25. i need almost new engine for this project cuz seenin my car with that much rust (even rust build up in all the hoeses connected to the radiator) i want a decent KA. any ideas where i can get one for a moderate price and how to test if the engine is good. would i be better off with a SR
Old 10-07-2005, 05:41 PM
Contributing Member

if you're gonna buy a new engine and stuff, why not go sr or rb? Its kinda weird that you just figured out had dirty the egine was, but ok.... you could always just clean it up. IMO if you want to get a new engine... leave the one thats in there, there. and build the other block while it is out of the car, it;ll take some time, but will make for a sweet ka-t
Old 10-07-2005, 07:29 PM

the reason i wanted to go with another KA is b/c i'm new with turbos and if my KA blows then it'd only be a about 500 bucks or less to replace compared to the SR i'd be working on that would cost a couple thousand to replace. plus i already have the turbo and SMIC. the engine was sitting before i bought the car and the car i got for dirt cheap anwho, hence the word project. i would keep the engine i have now an turbo charge it but it might not be able to handle the pressure.

i already have an engine stand and my neighbor has a engine hoist that they agreed to let me use when the time comes.

the thing i'm concerned about is the money. getting a complete SR is almost the same amount as buying a new KA and putting in money to have a turbo setuo installed. Hmmmm.