Suspension, Chassis, and Brakes Make your 240sx/Silvia's handling better and stopping faster.

Slotted and/or Cross Drilled Rotors Create Fade?

Old 08-04-2003, 06:10 PM

Slotted and/or Cross Drilled Rotors Create Fade?

...i heard this somewhere, i don't specifically remember where. i apologize if this might sound like s stupid question to some but...

what does it mean by fade?

..i've been trying to come up with a set-up that suits me. i'm still a beginner drifter..i'm still in the process of getting a proper one down, i have landed a few though.

well now that you know what i'll be doing with my car (drifting), would i really need slotted or corss drilled rotors?

i was just thinking about some Brembo Replacments, with z32 calipers. is that a good enough set up for a beginner?
Old 08-04-2003, 07:27 PM
Contributing Member

Slotted and cross drilled rotors REDUCE fade, though crossdrilling usually results in cracked rotors so they're mostly made to just save weight. Oh yeah fade is when the brakes create too much heat and braking power is reduced, thus slotting and cross drilling vents gasses from the pads and reduces the heat.
Old 08-04-2003, 08:54 PM

Which do you recommend for more of a daily driver/weekend warrior kind of car? I also dont really have $1000 to spend on a Z32 conversion..will braided lines, pads and rotors all around be sufficient? I know the calipers are the money parts.
Old 08-04-2003, 10:47 PM
Contributing Member

A good set of pads, slotted rotors and lines should be fine for you or if you could find JDM brakes I hear they're a nice upgrade for cheaper than a Z32.
Old 08-05-2003, 10:06 AM
Contributing Member

Originally posted by I'm with Stupid
A good set of pads, slotted rotors and lines should be fine for you or if you could find JDM brakes I hear they're a nice upgrade for cheaper than a Z32.
ditto