Audio, Video and Security Stereos, Subs, In-Dash Tv's and alarms

I need help on picking a sub setup.

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2005, 07:59 PM

I need help on picking a sub setup.

I'm new to car audio and I'm really looking just to get some bass in my 1990 4runner. Right now my truck has a Panasonic CQ-C5410/C5310U head unit in it, and the stock speakers. The speakers sound fine, even at high volumes, but I completely lack any low end. Originally the truck had an amp and one sub in it, but it was taken out when I bought it. I do have all the wiring intact and all I need to do is go hook up my amp, and when I get a sub, hook that up too and I'll be ready to go.

Now to what I need to know: I was given a Rockford Fosgate P3001 (300 Watt, mono amp), I hear that this is a lower end amp, but for free, I'm not going to complain. Now what I need is a sub set up that will run off this amp and provide a good amount of bass for a low price. I really don't need, or want, anything too crazy, because I don't want anyone breaking into my truck and stealing it, but I also don't want some piece of **** from wal-mart either. I just need somewhere to start, so give me some suggestions and I'll go check them out. Also, should I make my own box, or should I get a pre-made box? I want the best sound I can get out of this amp and sub(s), but I don't want to spend an arm and a leg. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 09-05-2005, 08:37 PM

that amp is not low end..thats a great quality amp, but low wattage... but if u are gonna use that, a decent sub would be a rockford punch

Rockford - Punch 12" Single-Voice-Coil 4-Ohms Subwoofer P212S4
Capable of handling 400 watts (peak) and 200 watts RMS (continuous); injection-molded polypropylene cone with thermoplastic foam surround

On Sale

Reg. Price: $136.99
\
ebay it, you might find it cheaper.. this is direct from best buy
Old 09-06-2005, 01:15 PM