NA Motor Discussions regarding N/A KA24E, KA24DE, and SR20DE

How to set cam timing?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2007, 09:36 AM

How to set cam timing?

so, I just swapped in a new camshaft to replace this:

much better now, the valves line up:

and a note for anyone, getting the cam gear back on without removing the tensioner is a huge pain.

so I've got the motor set at tdc. as you can see below, the notch is straight up, so the cam is set for tdc.

I put the chain back on the gear to the same tooth I took it off on (...hopefully, I'm clumsy) and was wondering exactly what to do to time it correctly, as I've never done that before and can't find the procedure detailed anywhere.
The shiny link is marked (well, where it was, I cranked it around once so it's now pretty far down), and the little timing dot I know it's supposed to line up with after god knows how many revolutions. The distributor is exactly at the firing point for cyl 1.

So basically, what do I need to do next? the fsm says torque all the bolts and nothing else. Will it start without any further adjustment? and if so will it run alright? I just need the steps between now and turning the key, because I really can't find anything on it and I'd rather not be a tooth off and bend some valves or have bad timing...

Thanks!
Old 07-11-2007, 10:07 AM
Contributing Member

as long as the marks are lined up and the #1 cylinder is a tdc the car will start. next you'll need a timing light to make the needed adjustments.
Old 07-13-2007, 07:21 AM

torqued everything (I had my roommate hold the crank from moving while i went at the cam bolt, and he got bruised ). closed everything up and she starts. a little whining/light scraping at the beginning, but it was fading so I assume it's just the new parts being broken in as the oil flows.
The stationary timing marker seems to have broken off the block probably years ago and was never noticed - looks like I'll have to time it by ear.