NA Motor Discussions regarding N/A KA24E, KA24DE, and SR20DE

Ka24e help~!

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2006, 06:18 PM

Question Ka24e help~!

OK, well last saturday I bought a 1990 240sx for 750 bucks. The only thing wrong with it was no radiator and spark plug wires...well we put new plug wires one new spark plugs and a few otehr things. I dont have a radiator yet, but we tried to start it just to see if the engine would start.....it did. But soon after we noticed a puddle of coolant and oil mixture coming out of the radiator tube that leads to the thermostat/temp(forgot auctual name) can anyone tell me whats going on? Im a newb but im trying to learn...so is my engine fubar or is there anything I can do? Please help! Thanks!
Old 02-27-2006, 07:19 PM
Contributing Member

head gasket. fun times ahead my friend...
Old 02-27-2006, 07:51 PM

at least the radiator is already out.
Old 02-27-2006, 08:00 PM

Well thanks guys! A couple others said the same thing...well now I gotta learn how to do so I can do it. Any tips? Like I said im a newb but i wanna learn...Thanks!
Old 02-27-2006, 10:31 PM
joh

If it was me, I would pull the engine and tear it down to the block and check piston rings and what-not, also this would be a good time to get your heads port/polished, also look into gettin your TB bored out some, before you throw everything back in check all of your lines and wires, replace any damaged. Also throw some underdrive pulleys on there, and wrap your headers while you have the space. This might not be the extact route you want, but its what i would do.
Old 02-28-2006, 03:33 AM

I would love to do that but unfortunatly im very short on funds. Just getting a radiator and headgasket and the things nesscecary to to fix that stuff is going to take a bit for me to get the money. But I may end up doing that if the rents wanna fork up some dough! :/
Old 02-28-2006, 03:51 AM
Contributing Member

dl the fsm. its free.
Old 02-28-2006, 04:12 AM
joh