Off-Topic Anything Non-Related to the above topics.

Driving Stick

Old 09-10-2004, 11:57 AM
Contributing Member

Driving Stick

hey guys, can anyone give me a few pointers on driving manual? im looking for a standrad car in like a few months and i wanna know how to be able to drive it, nothing crazy, just to be able to drive from point A to point B, none of my friends have a standard car, all auto so im looking around, my dad told me he'll teach me a few pointers, but i wanna be able to know what the heck he is talking about...so any help would be great.
Old 09-10-2004, 12:01 PM

mmm, I just got my first manual, I absolutely love it. Hmmm as far as pointers, you've never driven a manual? Do you know the process (like how the clutch works, etc etc?) It's pretty much give ur self a week to get a good feel for it, dun let up on the clutch too fast, but at the same time, don't ride and burn the clutch. LOL, I guess I'm not that good at giving advice...

Basically learn it and then have a blast
Old 09-10-2004, 12:10 PM
Contributing Member

thanks, any tip would help, nah ive been in standard cars,and watched there footing, but never really got behind the wheel of one, im looking for the Driving stick for dummies book, haha, thats how bad i want to learn, got a question though, whats this about downshifting on turns? thats only if your in 2nd or 3rd gear right or am i compeletly off? haha sorry if i come off dumb
Old 09-10-2004, 12:22 PM

haha it's cool. The first time I touched stick was a friend's acura... in a parking lot, never took it past 2nd gear. Then I had to drive my friend's Hyundai, took it on the highway, was a little jumpy with the stick but I handled it okay. Then I finally got my sx and after about 2 weeks I now shift w/o even thinking about it. (I've had the car for almost 2 months now)

Downshifting is generally used when either you want to quickly accelerate, or if you are slowing donw just enuf to be too slow for your current gear.