Off-Topic Anything Non-Related to the above topics.

I could use EVERYONE input!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2007, 01:19 AM

I could use EVERYONE input!!!

I just got my 1st project for my engineering class......Yes i am a college student. And I am VERY excited about this. Cause I get to use my knowledge about cars in it. But more brains combined is better then one

Rules (as far as I know right now)
I need to make a Diet Coke and Mentos powered vehicle.. I think i have to use 2 litres of Diet coke. 50 dollar budget!!!

I have a basic design and idea in my head right now. but more minds and more ideas help a lot!

What I'm thinking right now is. a 2 litre's of coke is a good amount of weight for it's size... So the lighter the better. Also the size of the spout of a 2 litre bottle is really large... and lets all the gases out quickly. so I need to size it down, for it to last longer. But not to small, think about a exhaust on a car.. To big loose TQ to small loose HP.. Also I think about how big the tires should be and how far away from the bottle the should be. Another thing is what is it going to push off of? Air is pretty thin compared to the gases coming out of the bottle.. and idk if it'll have enough thrust to get going and keep going with the weight.

Here's a crude "paint" drawing of what is in my head

Name:  pic.jpg
Views: 5
Size:  13.9 KB

still need to think of a way to keep the bottle to not move....

ANY suggestions helps... if other people think its dumb. who cares, this is brain storming. This isn't due till the end of the semester. But its competition at the end, and I'd really like to win

Thanks everyone! First Thank You to any one that says something back!
Old 09-15-2007, 06:00 AM